Yesterday was crazy eventful. When I came to the group, everyone who was there I met yesterday so I was pretty glad about that because I could remember the names. There’s Yungsik, his wife Jaehee, Ikko, Maki and… Maki. By some miracle, there are actually 4 Japanese sisters named Maki/Makiko supporting the congregation here. (What’re the chances?!) To separate them, just plain Maki is the sister I already know, where as the other Maki will be called tall Maki.

Tomorrow I’ll get a picture of us all since I forgot again today, haha.

Here’s our sign to the Kingdom Hall! I almost missed it. As a side note, you might be wondering how I’ve been getting around! It’s true that bus and taxi are pretty popular but I’ll tell you:

  • Motorcycle!

I rode in a car with Jaehee and Yungsik (because they own one) but all other times I’ve been going around via motorcycle which is just add thrilling as it sounds. I’ll be posting a video in a few hours of me going en route to the meeting. I don’t know what I love more, riding the motorcycle or people’s stares as we zoom by. Hahaha.

In any case, today, we did service in an area called Fisherman’s Village. Of course, that means we were right by the water. A lot of sleeping householders since most work at night. Others were not at home. Since Yungsik and Tall Maki got caught in conversation, the rest of us waited in the shade.


Speaking of shade, Maki gifted me a reflective sun umbrella- an indispensable tool for fighting off the ever-present, ever-oppressive sun. 

We entered an area that had a mix of Thai and foreigners – so my first “victims” were… English speakers! Unfortunately, this means I didn’t get to speak with any Thai people, not yet…. but every English person we spoke to accepted a tract or business card!

Jaehee was amazed. She told the other sisters about it, basically like, “I go to the door with the business card advertising in the website and they’ll be like ‘no, no thank you! Go away.’ She goes up and they’re like, ‘oh, thank you so much! We really appreciate it.'” Then Maki was like, “did you understand what she said?” And Jae hee replied, “not at all!” which made me crack up! Really, I was happy that I understood her Thai!

She and her husband have been here for nine years. They are both from Korea.

Timeskip, we went to lunch (an experience I hope to document later) and afterward we ran into the store to do a little bit of shopping because they are doing dinner today after the meeting. I only bought a few things because I can’t have more than 3 pounds of weight added to my luggage, but look at these prices!

To give you some scale, $1 USD is roughly 35 THB.

These notebooks are like $0.23, with the most expensive ones here being only $0.49! The prices are honestly mind-boggling.


After that, we dropped off Yungsik at their home and continued with some calls and returns.

Since I speak English, they took me to a bunch of English calls. I got a return visit with the woman from India who speaks Telugu! She’s been living in Thailand with her husband and daughter and mother for five years. That said, she does not speak Thai at all. I thought to myself that that must be a very lonely existence… But, she was happy to see the website in Telugu. We went over the tract about where one can find the answer to life’s questions and she loved it!

She asked if she could download the materials from the website and said we could come back any afternoon. :^)

Then we decided to get coffee. They were going to go to Starbucks, and I don’t know what happened but somehow we ended up going to a country club.

…Not that I was exactly mad about it.


I got this gorgeous mango drink instead of coffee and it was so beautiful– and delicious! And it wasn’t even $2.50 USD– way cheaper than Starbucks. 


I sat across from Ikko, who you can finally enjoy a picture of!


When we finish, the girl said to us in English, your bill is on the table or something like that. I can’t really remember because I was surprised that she spoke English with barely any accent– surprising in a country that does not need to speak English at all. She was the first Thai person I’d met, actually, who did.

In Thai, I said, ‘wow! You can speak English!” And just as surprised, she replied in Thai, “wow, you can speak Thai!” Hence, the name of this post- which translates to “You can speak English!”

After all the calls, I commented to tall Maki that I didn’t really want to go back to my hotel because it’s boring there– and she told Jaehee who then invited me to come out that evening with them to play badminton. Frankly speaking, sports are not my forte, on top of that I have asthma… but of course I went anyway, inhaler in hand. I had a blast!

They were also patient with me because they were all like… Olympic-style badminton experts, and I was sitting there barely able to serve. By the end of our time there, I got a lot better! And they were also really encouraging. I also met the first Thai brother that I seen, a brother named Lék, meaning small.

And speaking of small, all the portions of smaller here. To conclude, please enjoy looking at the smallest Magnum bar that you will possibly ever see in your life.

(Blurry because we were driving down a bumpy road.)

If you can’t tell, it’s about the length of my middle finger. Amazing.

3 thoughts on ““Pûut paa-sǎa anggrìt dâai!”

Leave a Reply

