No, unfortunately I didn’t get to speak anyone today. I did prepare my presentation, and I was ready but… let me jump into the story. So at our first door, there was a deaf woman. 

Surprisingly, I could kind of understand their conversation. I said their, because yes. Maki did whip out some random Thai sign language skills. Haha! It was amazing!

Unfortunately, the conversation wasn’t so much of a good one. Not because the woman wasn’t responsive, but because of the subject matter. Basically, her husband was abusive and she was talking about how she was going to be leaving in four days.

She actually also plan to kill him but I couldn’t understand how Maki responded, so…. cliffhanger! Sorry about that. In any case, we got to share a video with her about Jehovah’s name and she loved it! At the end of the video, Mali asked her, “what is Jehovah’s name?”

… and that’s how I learn the TSL sign for Jehovah. It’s pretty simple! YW.

Maki & the deaf woman.

We also got a picture altogether but I didn’t take it. I’ll see if I can hunt it down!

So, our conversation with this woman was so long that they finished the territory while we spoke! We went to the beach to see if there were any houses there, but there weren’t any.

Since there were no houses anyway, we stopped to eat. While we were eating, it started pouring rain, so if you follow my Snapchat then you saw the video that I posted there of that rain. If you do not follow my Snapchat, then this is a great time to do so! Snapchat ID: rabbitroost

For lunch, I had the national dish of Tom Thailand, Tom Yum Goong! (With rice.)

It was delicious! And spicy– but, frankly speaking, not as spicy as African food. Which meant that I could eat just fine. It just occurred to me that I should have taken a picture of the table, but I forgot to.

An observation that I have made is that most of the friends serving in Thailand are friends that came from Japan and Korea.

I look forward to having my own studies and improving my Thai. Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to fix my sleep schedule just yet because it is 4 a.m. Not only that but I went to sleep yesterday around 5:30 p.m.

As far as my tally, no black girls in sight.

+4 pictures wise, so total number of pictures taken of and with me is now 12.

Funny bonus story:

I was talking to Maki and explaining what I do for work. I said to her, “I’m a guide”– however the word for chicken in Thai is pronounced “gai”. Long story short, she thought that I was saying I’m a chicken for work, and she thought that I was some kind of mascot.

When I explained that Philadelphia was a Historic City, she didn’t really get the connection but then later when I was talking to another sister about it, she suddenly burst out laughing– because she realize that I was saying guide, not gai.

We laughed about that for a while. (^:

Leave a Reply

